Have you been accused of a crime?
Call for a free consultation 24/7 toll-free:
(888) 744-7730

Blog

Thousand Oaks High Student Facing Assault Charges After Hitting School Employee with Car

Posted by Dan Kann | Sep 27, 2019 | 0 Comments

Bigstock hit and run concept injured m 230790499 20%282%29

A recent confrontation between a Thousand Oaks High School student and a school employee in the school parking lot ended with the student driving over the employee with his car. According to KTLA 5 News, Lisa Solis, a school activities coordinator confronted a 16-year-old male student after she caught him stealing from the concession stand during a basketball game.

When the student got in his car, Solis stood in front of it and told the student not to leave because of the suspected stealing. Police reported that the student instead “proceeded to drive his vehicle, ‘deliberately' striking Solis, running her over, and [fled] the scene.”

Solis was hospitalized in critical condition from her injuries she sustained in the hit. Police later located the suspect vehicle and driver near his home, and he was detained on suspicion of assault with a deadly weapon.

What is considered a Deadly Weapon?

Under California Penal Code 245, Assault with a Deadly Weapon is vaguely defined as committing “an assault upon the person of another with a deadly weapon.”  What a deadly weapon actually is can be tricky. Basically, a deadly weapon includes any instrument that can be used in a way that is capable of causing, or likely causing, death or serious bodily injury.

Obvious examples include things like knives or guns. However, ordinary things such as a hammer, bottle, or a car can be considered “deadly weapons” in a criminal case if the person used them to intentionally, seriously harm another. In this case, the car was used to run over the victim, which is why it is being considered a “deadly weapon.”

Consequences for Assault with a Deadly Weapon

Consequences for an Assault with a Deadly Weapon charge often depend on what type of “weapon” was used. When it is not a gun, a person could be facing prison time for two, three, or four years, county jail (not exceeding one year), or a fine (not exceeding $10,000), or both the fine and imprisonment. When certain types of guns are used, the punishment is more severe and prison times increase.

If you are facing an assault charge of any kind, it is crucial to speak with an experienced assault crime defense attorney right away. There are defenses available in assault cases, and the skilled attorneys at the Kann California Defense Group will examine your case and determine the best strategy to defend against life-changing criminal penalties. Contact us today for your free consultation! 888-744-7730

About the Author

Dan Kann

Daniel E. Kann has devoted his entire legal career exclusively to defending individuals facing criminal prosecution in Southern California. Dan fights criminal cases throughout Los Angeles, Ventura, Orange, Kern, Riverside and San Bernardino Counties.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Menu